POKEMON!!!

I still haven’t finished Grandia 1 yet. I’ll try to finish it this week. It’s just that I’ve been busy the past few days but, I’ve managed to squeeze some time for Pokemon Black 2. While I was playing, I thought I should write something about Pokemon and so, here it is.

A little background before I get started. I’ve been playing Pokemon since I was ten. The first Pokemon game I played was Pokemon Crystal Version.  I’ve finished at least 1 game from every generation except the 5th (for some reason, I just can’t get excited for Black and Black 2 although I do try).  I’ve also played the trading card games for the Gameboy. I’ve also played some Pokemon Ranger and Mystery Dungeon. I do play competitively, although quite seldom. I EV train, IV breed, shiny hunt and all that good stuff.  Now what I want to do is introduce to you guys some pokemons that I grew to love through the years, and so without further ado…

 

Arcanine

arcanine

Type: Fire

Pokedex Entry:

A Pokémon that has been admired since the past for its beauty. It runs agilely as if on wings.

 

Ever since I saw Arcanine in the anime, I liked him immediately. He looked so awesome and so I decided that I had to have Arcanine on my team no matter what. I had my first Arcanine when I played FireRed and man was that great. Arcanine’s stats has great balance which brings great versatility when you play competitively. Definitely a great pokemon to have on any team!

Flygon

flygon

Type: Ground/Dragon

Pokedex Entry:

The flapping of its wings sounds like singing. To prevent detection by enemies, it hides itself by flapping up a cloud of desert sand.

 

I never actually planned to get a Flygon when I first played emerald but, I caught a Trapinch and so I just went with it. When it finally evolved to a Flygon, I kind of got used to it and so when I played the other Pokemon games, every time I’d get a flying type, it didn’t feel right. So as time passed, I grew to love Flygon. People always tell me to just get a Salamence as oppose to a Flygon but, doesn’t Flygon look a lot slicker than Salamence?  Flygon’s 4x weakness to ice sucks but, Flygon’s speed and attack somewhat compensates for it and Flygon is a bit sturdy so it’s okay. Personally, out of my favorite pokemons, I only use Flygon ,Arcanine and Lucario competitively. Anyway, Flygon is a great pokemon! You should have one!

Luxray

luxray

Type: Electric

Pokedex Entry:

When its eyes gleam gold, it can spot hiding prey–even those taking shelter behind a wall.

 

From a cute little Shinx to a badass looking Luxray, what’s not to love? One of the first pokemon I got for my party when I played pearl and one of the strongest hands down.  With Luxray’s awesome attack stats plus some STAB moves, Luxray is a great offensive threat. The only thing is, with mediocre speed, it lessens the value of Luxray in competitive battling. For in-game purposes though, you should definitely get one now, as in right now!

Floatzel

 floatzel

Type: Water

Pokedex Entry:

Its flotation sac developed as a result of pursuing aquatic prey. It can double as a rubber raft.

 

Floatzel is another pokemon I liked after I watched the anime. I liked how Ash’s Buizel was so strong in battles, so I wanted to have one as well. Once my Buizel evolved, I was overwhelmed by how strong Floatzel was. Floatzel is super fast and has great physical attack. Seriously, Floatzel just destroys Bertha and Flint of the elite 4. Floatzel isn’t really advisable competitively but, Floatzel is really fun to use. Definitely a great water pokemon to have that is if you haven’t got one already.

Lucario

lucario

Type: Fighting/Steel

Pokedex Entry:

By catching the Aura emanating from others, it can read their thoughts and movements.

 

Similar to Luxray, Lucario is one of the first pokemon I got while playing pearl. Lucario has great type coverage and resistance. Great attack stats and speed. Lucario will generally destroy anything in its way in-game, also, a very dangerous sweeper competitively. Great addition to any team, I guarantee it!

Chikorita

chikorita

Type: Grass

Pokedex Entry:

It loves to bask in the sunlight. It uses the leaf on its head to seek out warm places.

 

Last but definitely not the least is Chikorita! Chikorita is the very first pokemon I got. It’s also because of Chikorita that made love grass types. Although of course I do evolve her to a Meganium eventually but, I usually breed the Meganium and have another Chikorita following me around especially when I play HeartGold. Chikorita has a great movepool especially once you evolve her to a Meganium, which provides to be a great defensive and support pokemon. Chikorita has balanced stats but it’s her bulk that makes her a great pokemon. If you’re thinking of a gen 2 starter to play with, Chikorita is a great choice. Chikorita is definitely not to be messed with. So go get one now! GO!

That’s it! If any of you are wondering why I don’t have any gen 5 pokemons listed, it’s just because I haven’t been exposed to them that much. Although I do like a lot of them. I like all pokemons, it’s just that the pokemons I listed are special. If anyone reads this post, let me know your favorite pokemons!

Leave a comment